Zene vs Knowatoa
Knowatoa's pitch is "Show up in the conversation". It tracks unlimited brands per plan (its pricing FAQ argues for daily updates, while its help docs say data updates weekly), and adds competitor gap analysis, a weekly briefing on "what to publish next", AI-agent research and drafting, persona-based content strategy and crawler analytics.
The plans are split by engine. Knowatoa's $59 Starter covers ChatGPT and Google's two AI surfaces; Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Meta AI start at $199. Zene Pro covers ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok at $19/month, but not Google AI Overviews or AI Mode. Which tool fits depends mostly on which engines your buyers use.
Choose Zene if…
- You want Claude, Gemini and Perplexity at $19/mo - on Knowatoa they start at the $199 Growth plan
- You want Grok tracked - it isn't in Knowatoa's published engine list
- You want a free plan with no card, and published question limits (10 Free, 15 Pro, 40 Growth, 75 Agency)
- You want ready-to-publish drafts (content brief, FAQ copy, schema JSON-LD, llms.txt) on every gap
Choose Knowatoa if…
- Google AI Overviews and AI Mode matter most to you - Knowatoa includes them at $59; Zene doesn't track them
- You want Meta AI tracking or a NinjaCat connector - both on Knowatoa Growth; Zene has neither
- You track many brands - Knowatoa lists unlimited brands
- You want a weekly briefing on what to publish next and persona-based content strategy
The comparison, in one table.
| Zene | Knowatoa | |
|---|---|---|
| Engines tracked | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok | Starter: ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode. Growth: 7 (adds Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Perplexity) |
| Free plan / trial | Free forever: 1 brand, 10 questions, ChatGPT + Gemini, scans on demand, no card | "Free trial"; card terms not stated |
| Entry price | $0; Pro $19/mo (2 brands, 15 questions, all 5 engines) | Starter $59/mo: 3 engines, unlimited brands; question count not disclosed |
| Higher tiers | Growth $49/mo: 5 brands, 40 questions, PDF reports, Slack/Teams/webhook alerts, 3 markets. Agency $99/mo: unlimited brands, 75 questions, white-label reports, REST API, Zapier, Looker Studio, 10 markets | Growth $199 (7 engines, API, MCP, Looker Studio, NinjaCat); Enterprise on request |
| Questions tracked | 10 Free, 15 Pro, 40 Growth, 75 Agency | Not disclosed on the pricing page |
| Refresh | Daily on paid plans (Gemini and Grok answers refresh daily, ChatGPT's every 3 days, Claude and Perplexity weekly); Free scans on demand | Unclear: the pricing FAQ argues for daily updates; the help docs say data updates weekly |
| Fixes / content | Pro: prioritized action plan, content drafts (brief, FAQ, schema, llms.txt), outreach list | Weekly "what to publish next" briefing, AI-agent research and drafting, persona-based strategy |
| Integrations | Read-only MCP server from Pro; Slack, Teams and webhook alerts from Growth; the REST API, Zapier, Looker Studio and MCP write tools on Agency | API, MCP, Looker Studio, NinjaCat on Growth |
| Best for | Small teams that want Claude, Perplexity and Grok plus fixes on a budget | Teams focused on Google AI surfaces, or on Meta AI and BI tools |
Facts as of October 4, 2026, from Knowatoa's public pages (sources below). Both products ship fast - verify current details at knowatoa.com and on our pricing page.
Where Knowatoa is stronger
Google coverage at entry and integrations higher up. Knowatoa's $59 Starter includes Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, which Zene doesn't track, and Knowatoa lists unlimited brands. Its Growth plan adds Meta AI along with Claude, Gemini and Perplexity, plus API, MCP, Looker Studio and NinjaCat connectors. On the content side it offers a weekly briefing on what to publish next and persona-based content strategy, and it includes crawler analytics.
Where Zene is different
Zene puts the non-Google engines in its entry plan: Pro at $19/month includes ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok, where Knowatoa needs the $199 plan for Claude, Gemini and Perplexity and doesn't list Grok. Zene publishes its question limits and has a free plan with no card. Each scan on Pro ends in a prioritized action plan with a content brief, FAQ copy, schema JSON-LD and an llms.txt. Knowatoa's homepage describes drafting, while a third-party report says it does not generate fixes such as JSON-LD; we couldn't confirm which is current, so test it during the trial.
Pricing
Zene: Free, Pro $19/month, Growth $49/month, Agency $99/month ($190/$490/$990 yearly), in USD. Knowatoa's pricing page lists Starter at $59 and Growth at $199 a month, with Enterprise on request. It does not disclose how many questions each plan tracks, so ask before you compare cost per question.
How to choose
If your buyers search on Google and you need AI Overviews and AI Mode, start with Knowatoa. If they use ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity or Grok and you want fixes drafted for less, start with Zene.
Sources · facts as of October 4, 2026
Every Knowatoa fact on this page comes from these public pages, checked on October 4, 2026. Zene's side comes from our pricing page and methodology. Spot something outdated? Tell us and we'll fix it.
Common questions.
Yes. Both track whether AI engines mention your brand. Zene Pro is $19/mo for 15 questions on ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok; Knowatoa Starter is $59/mo for ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, with Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Meta AI on the $199 Growth plan.
Knowatoa's pricing page did not disclose question counts when we checked it on 2026-10-04. Zene publishes its question limits per plan: 10 Free, 15 Pro, 40 Growth, 75 Agency.
Yes, on the $199 Growth plan, which also adds Gemini, Meta AI and Perplexity. The $59 Starter plan covers ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode only. Zene includes Claude on Pro.
See the difference on your own brand.
Run a free Zene audit on ChatGPT and Gemini (all five engines on Pro) - then make the call with your real data.
